God Bless You, Mr. Vonnegut

Kurt Vonnegut freaking died.
Don blurted the news as relayed from our editor/hacker/supreme-cyberstalker/all-around-mr-nice-guy Bryant.
Now I wax nostalgic on my amateurish literary pursuits back in college. Vonnegut is one of the literary heroes who encouraged me to just pick up my pen and write, surely a definitive yardstick of an excellent writer.

Breakfast of Champions was his first work that I read. I already considered him one of the best first person writers I have encountered even before I finished the book. (Though Ria says that I should also try Somerset Maugham, who is also greatly recommended by Joboy). I’m not good at description, but suffice to say that Breakfast of Champions was one of those novels that I would be really willing to read again one of these days. It is irreverent, innovative, funny, sardonic and insanely satirical. Plus, Vonnegut made it look so easy I was encouraged to write a few lines by myself. Some inspiration huh.

Well, there goes my inspiration. Dead at 83. If only to pay tribute to him, and cherish one of the things we have in common, may we remember him for the epitaph he once wished to be engraved on his tomb

“THE ONLY PROOF HE NEEDED
FOR THE EXISTENCE OF GOD
WAS MUSIC”

I’m now seriously melting in mush.

6 thoughts on “God Bless You, Mr. Vonnegut

  1. my favorite vonnegut line is this:

    “if you really want ro hurt your parents and you don’t have the nerve to be homosexual, the least you can do is go into the arts.”

  2. I actually announced the same thing on our 3jrn3 yahoo groups. Man, though Maugham is brilliant in first person perspectives, I gotta say, nothing satirizes anything as good as Vonnegut did. And I mean, I’m such a fucking wimp for not yet starting on Slaughter House 5 just because it’s a soft copy. Well, whatever. You and I should geta move on and decide who’s gonna replace him. It’s on you and me, dude! HAHAHAHA.

    I highly recommend Hocus Pocus…

    Ria Dibera

  3. @ Sir Ric: That’s so…Vonnegut. Sometimes he is like The Smiths/Morrissey, his lines become immortal because they are so forward and honest.

    @ Dibera: Becuase of you and Joboy, been actually hunting for the Razor’s Edge in bargain bookshops. Have you read the Painted Veil? I’ve wathced the movie, and I’ve almost crumpled in tears.
    Where the hell did you get a soft copy of Slaughterhouse 5?
    Pahiramin mo na lang ako ng Hocus Pocus pag nagkita tayo, hehe.
    Have you read this??

    Well I’m up for the challenge, do check on me after the turn of the next century to see if I’m half the writer Vonngeut is, hahaha.

  4. I saw a copy at National Bookstore of A painted Veil. the catch? it’s 600 something bucks. I didn’t know there was a movie version. where did you get it? my slaughter house 5 is something my sister downloaded from the internet. i haven’t so much as read the first page. arghh!

    hindi ko pa nababasa yang nasa link na yan. sige basahin ko ngayon.

    i’ll lend you hocus pocus alright. basta magpakita ka. ha ha ha.

    Dibera

Leave a Reply

